This web site use private and third party cookies to optimize your navigation, suit your preferences and perform analytical tasks. By continuing browsing accept our Cookies Policy.


Profesorado de Ética



The Ethics Faculty Learning Community (CAPE) is made up of lecturers who teach the subject 'Civic and Professional Ethics' in the various degree programmes at the University of Deusto. More than a thousand students study this subject every year in the final or penultimate year of their degree.

The academic staff come from a wide range of disciplines such as psychology, business, law, philosophy, engineering and sociology. The Learning Community aims to be an agora in which professionals learn from each other and from the extensive experience of the University of Deusto in this field.

The Centre for Applied Ethics has its origins in the “Applied Ethics Seminars" that were held at the beginning of the 1993/94 academic year with the aim of promoting professional ethics teaching, among others.


This long-standing experience has helped to consolidate a common frame of reference. The academic staff understand ethics to be a part of philosophy that focus critically on morality with a two-fold intention. To establish criteria that enable people's moral development and, most importantly, to promote critical reflection on social relations in order to foster the building of fair, supportive and democratic societies.

In this regard, there is a commitment to civic ethics, capable of guiding the practice of reflexive, critical citizens who are committed to the social and political environment.

In fact, it is a commitment to professional ethics since professions are a special and very effective way of exercising our citizenship. They make a decisive contribution to the construction of societies, orienting their relations (labour, economic, social, political) according to ethical criteria (inclusion, justice, equity, democratisation, plurality) or the opposite.


  • Jonatan Caro Rey
  • Izaskun Sáez de la Fuente Aldama
  • Itziar Navarro Pikabea
  • Joxin Etxezarreta Odriozola
  • Jorge Canarias Fernández-Cavada
  • Javier Martínez Contreras
  • Aranzazu Echaniz Barrondo
  • Miguel Ramón Viguri Axpe