This web site use private and third party cookies to optimize your navigation, suit your preferences and perform analytical tasks. By continuing browsing accept our Cookies Policy.


Research Programme

The main objective of university institutes is research. The programme at the Human Rights Institute intends to disseminate analysis and knowledge of the current challenges to human rights through research projects and contracts whose results lead to relevant innovations for the social and legal sciences. They are also useful to the political and social agents responsible for enforcing human rights 

Research, its dissemination and the transfer of knowledge generated through it, must contribute to fostering the local, international social and political contexts in which the Institute works, focusing on strengthening a human rights culture from the local to the international level.

Research Team

Responsibility for developing the Human Rights Institute’s research programme lies with the research team “Human Rights and Social and Cultural Challenges in a Changing World". 

In keeping with the Institute’s working philosophy, the research team is interdisciplinary and has a clear international focus. It is formed by researchers from the Human Rights Institute, other University of Deusto researchers, research fellows, as well as grant or public research contract recipients attached to the Institute. In July of 2019, the team was formed by 19 researchers (13 PhDs and 6 doctoral candidates) from different disciplines in the social, legal, political and human sciences. The majority are PhDs and PhD candidates from Law, Philosophy, Sociology, Political Science and International Relations.

Research Team Members 

Research director
Dolores Morondo Taramundi


  • Joana Abrisketa Uriarte
  • Cristina Churruca Muguruza
  • Cristina de la Cruz Ayuso
  • Elena Ghidoni
  • Felipe Gómez Isa
  • Aitor Ibarrola Armendariz
  • José Ramón Intxaurbe Vitorica
  • Encarnación La Spina
  • Asier Martínez de Bringas
  • Dolores Morondo Taramundi
  • María Nagore Casas
  • Eduardo J. Ruiz Vieytez
  • Gorka Urrutia Asua
  • Trinidad Vicente Torrado

PhD students

  • Mayra Eliana Nuñez Pastor
  • Gustavo de la Orden
  • Laia Tarragona

Research assistant

  • Anca Cretu